Being the only Parent

Today started at 6:35am, so that means I woke late. I calmly got my girls dressed, and there was no fuss and no muss.

Because the girls are in separate classrooms, but thankfully at the same school, I feel a little less connected than I did last year when I had 2 different location drop offs.

I called my dad, who’s in Tampa with his dying mother, and he heard the sadness in my voice. I wished that I had another parent in the house.  He said, “don’t be upset about what you don’t have, be great with what you have”. and “do not wish for something you might get and can’t handle or won’t like” lol. My dad I love him so, and my heart is filled with sadness for him as he sits by his mother’s side.

As  parent who is parenting alone, I’m doing a good job with them. The problem is where I am left.

Today will be here and gone. I will hug my babies and love what I have and what I don’t have.

Adama

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

